Here’s to the Future…

I have said before, and I feel it is worth repeating in this time, that I am a fatal optimist until the moment I shall breathe my last…And I say fatal because I know deep down in my heart that that optimism, that will to always see the opportunity in despair, the hope in sadness, and the deeply hidden love in the midst of a world full of hate may ultimately, if time, circumstance, and coincidence have their way, lead me to that moment much sooner than I would prefer.  Yet despite all the evidence in this world begging me to give up hope, despite all the pain both physical and emotional that I feel amidst the twilight of a potentially dying civilization, and despite the simple fact that of every human being I meet in this life at least 95% will ultimately disappoint me with their failure to act, failure to take risk, failure to overcome their own cognitive hurdles, and failure to fully have faith in the promises of their human capabilities, I am still a believer.  I still see the unlimited potential in every good and decent human being I encounter.  And I still see a much better world that we may ultimately leave to the next generation…

It’s been said by many people that the soldier, above all others, prays for peace.  For it is we who must suffer and bear the deepest scars and pains of war.  We travel and fight in foreign lands.  We put our personal lives, our relationships, and our sanity on hold oftentimes returning to a reality that is much different from the one we have left.  We bear any burden, overcome any obstacle, and take on any possible risk to see our mission come to its end.  And despite the politics, the powers, and the bullshit that runs every aspect of our lives our ultimate loyalty, our ultimate devotion, goes to the hope for the next generation.  We are loyal to the end, loyal to the final gift we hope to give to our children: a world beyond endless war…a world finally at peace…

Yet if we ever wish to see the final manifestation of that dream in our children’s time, we need to begin to acknowledge the sins of our past.  We need to come to terms with the simple fact that every “enemy” we face in this time is truly of our own creation.  From Islamic Terror, to the Islamic Republic of Iran, to the heartless rulers and warlords of Central Africa, to the rising powers of China and Russia, to the “apostate” regimes of North Korea, Venezuela, Pakistan, Syria, and Cuba…our nation had a hand in creating all of them.  They are a product of our narrow-minded and short-sighted policies.  They are born of our hollow mantras of “spreading American values” and “American exceptionalism”.  They are created by our simplistic loyalties to the great American corporations.  And they are nurtured by our ultimate failure to choose cooperation over competition.  We created our own enemies and now we are faced with the unenviable task of dealing with the mistakes of our fathers.  Unfortunately, it’s really that plain and simple my friends…

Despite every desire I have to be overcome with anger and frustration at the sins of my government, despite every moment I face the craving to rip the flag off my shoulder, yell “Fuck It!” at the top of my lungs, and leave my country forever seeking final peace in some far off land for the rest of my days, the simple fact is that I can never truly bring myself to that end.  I am an American until the day I die.  I love my country, I love serving it under this uniform, and I will likely continue to wear it until the whims of time push me on to other endeavors.  For love, in its purest form, is never a victim of time, circumstance, and coincidence.  It is everlasting, undying, and cannot be compromised by even the most egregious breaches of good faith.  Nations, just like men, are truly wayward souls each stumbling awkwardly through the course of its existence trying to make things right but making hundreds of mistakes, both great and small, along the way…

Yet if we truly love our society, if we truly love our children and truly hope that they can overcome the cold realities of our time and achieve things even greater than our wildest dreams in their days, we need to start by coming clean with our failures.  We need to drag all of our skeletons out of the closet.  We need to open our dirty book of secrets to be read by all the people of the world.  We need to strip naked of our narrow fears and insecurities, expose ourselves and all of our imperfections, and look the world in the eyes asking for forgiveness…A dirty coup here, an arms deal there, an assassination or two under pillow, a dirty resource war based on profiteering in the closet, a selfish power grab in the backyard, a couple of economic hijackings under the bed, a conflict based on false pretenses under the rug, and maybe a stolen election or two in the attic…if we want peace, we need to reveal it all.  If our ultimate loyalty is truly to the future generations, we need to find a way to pass our torch and let our children see our sad and messy history by its light…Only from that point, will we realize that there is nowhere to go but forward.

This post is about the future, but if we wish to move forward into creating our new realities, our new paradigms, and a new civilization we first must find a way to make peace with our past.  For the two are inextricably linked in the manifestation of our reality.  Time has a way of healing all wounds and righting all wrongs, but only if you first approach it with a pure heart and open soul…Here’s to all the amazing people I have met in this life and all the truly incredible ones I have yet to meet.  Here’s to the dreamers.  Here’s to the renegades.  Here’s to the weirdos, the renaissance men, and the diehard believers.  The future is ours to make…let’s get to work.  Loyal to the End…

Cheers,

Brian

22 MAR 2012, 1230(L), Sharana, Paktika, Afghanistan.

About briangdonnelly

I'm pretty much a random traveler and free thinker. Right now I live and work with the Army in North Carolina. I grew up in Missouri but am from the northeast US and have traveled a lot with the Army and life in general so I can't say I really have a "home" except where I chose to catch a few hours or rack each day. Overall, life is pretty awesome and I'm looking forward to changing the world. Hit me up if you care... Peace, Brian
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here’s to the Future…

  1. hippiekim says:

    Brian,

    As always, I’ve enjoyed reading your last couple posts! I can’t wait to hear more details about your R&R trip. Hope that all is going well, especially with your thesis. I’ve enjoyed all the books that you sent me, and have been busy with a one day a week apprenticeship on a sheep farm, where I’m learning all about small livestock and pastureland management. Pretty good stuff for a future farmer to know! Anyways, peace and love! Kim

  2. Thank you Brian – I’ve posted a comment on your post – “Here’s to the Future”.
    Be safe and stay proud!

Leave a Reply

