Dare to have a pair…

I am not a political man by any means.  I have no party affiliation.  I have no desires for future office or even to work long-term for any government.  I hold my blue passport and military ID as a matter of time, circumstance, and coincidence and there is no guarantee that I will maintain either throughout the entirely of this long and twisted road I have come to call life.  While I work for the largest government on the face of the planet, I still refuse to even cast a vote for its leaders not because I am a renegade or anti-patriot, but simply because I still have not found a home and do not feel a part of any of my government’s constituencies.  I am a citizen, but I see myself as much more a citizen of my generation and my global community than the country I still call “home” from time to time.  While I have always had rebellious tendencies and indeed these will probably never disappear until the moment I breathe my last, they have at least been calmed by the realities I see and the world I hope to build for my children should I ever live long enough and become stable enough to have and raise them…

As I am not a political man, this blog is not about politics.  Indeed, I have absolutely nothing to offer in that field so why would I waste my time delving into it?  It is solely about ideas and not even about the ideas I always hold near and dear to my heart but simply the ones I am thinking at the time and place of their drafting.  None of them are complete, whole, or anywhere close to “right”.  I choose to share them simply because holding on to them would be too damn selfish for a man who has already come to peace with his own mortality and the limits of his ability to affect deep change in his world by going it alone.

I know that by putting them out in such a public forum that I am exposing myself to a considerable amount of risk.  The keeping of a blog is often frowned upon by soldiers due to concerns about OPSEC and “good order and discipline” and yet throughout this blog I will never share anything that could provide any type of operational intelligence to any of my enemies or expose anything in my psyche that would make me less fit to lead the soldiers placed under me.  Also, by expressing my ideas and my dreams, I am opening myself up to a good amount of criticism and conflict.  And yet, I am so not afraid of being wrong anymore that I only hope that people will judge my words and make every attempt to crush my ideas…for being proven dead wrong is one of the best ways to gain true wisdom.  And in the end, I feel I am more afraid of the risk of being right and yet too unwilling to take the risk of expressing some of my half-thought-out concepts of reality than I could ever be of risk of simply being wrong.

I am no stranger to taking risks in this life and I will continue to push my envelopes and those of my society in every way possible until my time on this planet has finally passed and I am free to see the results of my toils from the other side (hopefully with a cold, next-life beer in my hand).  Whether you agree with anything I have to say or not is not really my concern although I would love to hear your criticisms if you are ever able to articulate them.  These thoughts are mine and mine alone and I will continue to put them out without fear—or perhaps with greater fear of holding on to them—until I find a better way of using my time and resources.  In the end, whether I actually achieve anything for my children in this life or not, the last my thing my critics will be able to say at my funeral is that I never had a pair.  And if for some reason they are still in doubt, they are free to take a gander and lick my balls.

Here’s to those who speak their mind and dare to dream.  While we may rarely be right, sometimes we may surprise ourselves by what we pull off.  There are certainly crazy times and crazy thoughts to come.  If you are still reading this, thanks for coming along for the ride.  We’ll share a beer or an exit point someday soon inshallah…

Peace be upon you,

Brian

22 AUG 2011, 2300 AST, Orgun-E, Paktika, Afghanistan

About briangdonnelly

I'm pretty much a random traveler and free thinker. Right now I live and work with the Army in North Carolina. I grew up in Missouri but am from the northeast US and have traveled a lot with the Army and life in general so I can't say I really have a "home" except where I chose to catch a few hours or rack each day. Overall, life is pretty awesome and I'm looking forward to changing the world. Hit me up if you care... Peace, Brian
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

